Blog Reflection

I have learnt many things whilst writing this blog. It has taught me to understand how to research into textiles in more depth and i have gained more knowledge about the history of textiles and traditions that I never knew of before. My favourite blog post to write about was the family photograph, probably because it was more personal and I found it interesting to research into something that was once in fashion. It also allowed me to find out more about an era which my parents lived in.

Something I have found hard whilst writing the blog would probably be finding sources such as books, journal papers etc, but I think this is something I need to learn to do and will hopefully get easier with practice.

As well as learning  through writing my own blog, its great to read others and find out more about different kinds of textiles which I haven’t had a chance to write about myself. Someones I found interesting would be Emily Sibsons – https://emilykarenblog.wordpress.com. I learnt about different textile traditions such as her piece on ‘Silk Saris from Varanasi (India)’. Here I found out where the silk initially came from, how saris have evolved over time and how this textile tradition became so popular it had the greatest impact on generating money in the whole of Europe at the time. I also particularly liked reading about her family photograph as the photo was very old which made it more interesting and I was impressed with her amount of research and knowledge on her image, knowing how old it was.

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 20.21.50

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 20.22.23

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 20.22.10

Emily Sibson’s Blog ‘ https://emilykarenblog.wordpress.com

If i was to continue my blog I would like to write more about things in my current interests, such as recent work I have done and artists that have recently inspired me. I think this would be an exciting thing to write about as it would link into current work I am doing and it would probably help in other aspects of my work, such as learning more about what I am working on at the present time.

Leave a Reply

